Tuesday, October 11, 2005

Sunoco’s Ultra 94 team gets four new membersAdriano Bilotta, Devin Cunningham, Kyle Marcelli and Daniel Morad assigned to Ultra 94 team for 2006

Release prepared by Russ Bond Agency

MOSPORT, ONTARIO Eleven drivers took part in the fourth Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship Evaluation Day on Friday, October 7, at the Mosport Driver Development track, and of those, four were chosen to represent Sunoco’s Team Ultra 94 for the 2006 running of the Bridgestone Academy F2000 series.

Adriano Bilotta, Devin Cunningham - the first driver from Quebec to be selected - Kyle Marcelli and Daniel Morad were the four drivers chosen. “This is a huge honour,” said Bilotta. “I was a little worried because I had a few spins, that I thought would hurt my chances, but they didn't, so I am really happy to join the Ultra 94 team for 2006.

The youngest of the group, Kyle Marcelli, made a huge impact with his car control and speed. “I am really excited about this opportunity,” Marcelli said. “Thanks to Ron Fellows, Sunoco and ASN Canada for this opportunity.” Devin Cunningham, from St-Bruno Quebec, is the first driver from Quebec to join the team. “I really had this opportunity circled on my calendar for a long time,” Cunningham said. “To join this team for 2006 was one of my goals for this year. It is one of the main reasons we come to Ontario to race. The program Ron Fellows and Sunoco have put together here is fantastic for young drivers, and I am honoured to be chosen to represent Sunoco next year along with my teammates.”

The final member chosen, Daniel Morad had a nervous few moments before his name was called. “I was really worried,” Morad said. “They called three names the normal number of drivers selected and I wasn’t called. Then they announced my name fourth - they did them alphabetically - and I was extremely happy. I have some great teammates on the Sunoco team for 2006, and I feel like we will be able to do a good job for both Sunoco and Ron Fellows.”

Fellows, like in the past, told how difficult it was to pick four of the 11 drivers. “It gets harder each year, but luckily this year, with the help from Sunoco and the Bridgestone Academy, we were able to select four drivers.” This year, the four drivers all come from different classes within the karting championship, and that shows the level of competition in the Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship. Bilotta is the World Formula Senior Champ, Marcelli competes in Formula Junior, Cunningham in Rotax Max Sr, and Morad is vice champion of Formula Senior.
“It shows the classes we have in the championship are all capable of developing some impressive talent,” Fellows added.

The four drivers will compete in the 2006 Bridgestone Academy F2000 series, and they have a ‘tradition’ to uphold. The last three years, a Sunoco Team Ultra 94 driver has won the championship, starting with Matt Champagne in 2003, Frank Launi in 2004, and Marco Di Leo in 2005.

Sunoco Team Ultra 94 fast facts;
The Sunoco Team Ultra 94 drivers are chosen from over 300 drivers in the Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship Presented by Toronto Star Wheels. Out of the 300 drivers, ten are invited to the Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship Evaluation Day, and from those ten, two are invited to join the team. The selected drivers are given a fully funded scholarship to compete in the Bridgestone Academy F2000 series. Sunoco also sponsors the series and is proud of the school’s 13 year injury free record, the personal coaching and the track time that the drivers receive.

In 2003, inaugural team members Matt Champagne and Jordy Vorrath finished one-two in the series, with Vorrath taking the ‘most poles’ award. Aaron de Heus came home fifth in the 2003 championship.
The 2004 members were 2003 Formula Senior Champion Juliana Chiovitti, multi-time Formula Senior race
winner Frank Launi, who won the 2004 championship and consistent Rotax Max Senior front runner Jamie Holtom. The 2005 team consists of 2004 double class winner Marco Di Leo, Formula Senior race winner Matt Pritiko, and Formula Senior driver Robert Wickens.
The 2006 Sunoco Team Ultra 94 drivers are Adriano Bilotta, Devin Cunningham, Kyle Marcelli and Daniel Morad.

1 comment: