Wednesday, July 25, 2007


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 25, 2007) – Twenty drivers of the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Sirius Satellite Radio are receiving a combined $50,000 in prize money for the first portion of the leader bonus program for this season.

The prize money, part of the overall $260,810 point fund award for 2007, is being distributed based on the championship standings after the first four races.

Andrew Ranger (No. 27 Wal-Mart/Tide Ford), of Roxton Pond, Quebec, tops the standings after four events with 638 points and will net the biggest amount, receiving $10,000. He has piloted the Dave Jacombs-owned entry to a win and a top-10 finish in all four races in the segment.

The win came on the road course at Mosport International Raceway near Bowmanville, Ontario. It came in just his third start in a stock car. Ranger made the move to NASCAR this season after finishing seventh in last year’s CHAMP Car World Series standings.

Second in the standings with 626 points is Peter Gibbons (No. 1 Canadian Tire/Mastercraft Chevrolet) of Stouffville, Ontario. He will receive $5,000. Gibbons has a pair of third-place efforts this year at Cayuga Speedway Park in Hamilton, Ontario, and at Sunvalley Speedway in Vernon, B.C.

Mark Dilley (No. 9 Dodge/Leland Industries Dodge) of Barrie, Ontario, is third in the standings with 623 points and will receive $4,500. He opened the season with a runner-up finish at Cayuga and equaled that at his home track of Barrie (Ontario) Speedway.

Receiving $4,000 for being fourth in the standings with 599 points is D.J. Kennington (No. 17 Castrol Dodge) of St. Thomas, Ontario. The last champion of the former CASCAR Super Series J.R. Fitzpatrick (No. 84 Milwaukee Electric Tools Chevrolet) of Cambridge, Ontario, is fifth in the standings with 598 points and will receive $3,500.

Receiving $3,000 for sixth, with 585 points, is Don Thomson Jr. (No. 4 Home Hardware Chevrolet) of Ayr, Ontario. Ron Beauchamp Jr. (No. 60 Mopar/Mobil 1 Dodge) of Windsor, Ontario, is tied with John Gaunt (No. 12 Centennial Chrysler Dodge), of Barrie, Ontario, at 570 points, but Beauchamp’s third-place finish at Mosport gave him the edge for seventh place and $2,500 while Gaunt earned $2,000. Receiving $1,750 for ninth is Kerry Micks (No. 02 Beyond Digital Imaging Ford) of Mount Albert, Ontario, with 564 points. Jason Hathaway (No. 3 Snap-on Tools Dodge) of Appin, Ontario, receives $1,500 for being 10th with 540 points.

Drivers 11th through 15th include Derek Lynch (No. 77 Canadian Shield Dodge), $1,450; Scott Steckly (No. 22 Erb Group Dodge), $1,400; Dave Whitlock (No. 39 Dickies/Hamilton Tiger-Cats Dodge), $1,350; Brad Graham (No. 19 Full Throttle/Challenger Dodge), $1,300 and Doug Brown (No. 10 Haldex/NAPA Dodge), $1,250.

The drivers ranked 16th through 20th wrap up this portion of the bonus program payout. They include Joey McColm (No. 50 ATTO Insurance Dodge), $1,200; Kent Nuhn (No. 09 Fuel Genie/Nuhn’s Auto Recyclers Pontiac), $1,150; Jim Lapcevich (No. 25 EMCEA Transport/Tim Hortons Chevrolet), $1,100; Ron Van Es (No. 11 Van Es Racing Chevrolet), $1,050 and Jeff Lapcevich (No. 23 Tim Hortons/EMCEA Transport Chevrolet), $1,000.

A second round of payouts will come following the eighth race on the 2007 schedule which will be the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres on August 19. Once again, 20 drivers will share $50,000. The bulk of the overall point fund will be distributed at the end of the season, based on the final championship standings.


No comments:

Post a Comment