Tuesday, September 27, 2005

Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship presented by Toronto Star Wheels wrap up Sunday classes

Release prepared by Russ Bond Agency ( www.russbondagency.com)

INNISFIL, ONTARIO Sunday’s action saw more drivers walking the track at lunchtime than had been on the track during qualifying. Rain had come and gone and the decision was what tires to go on. Thankfully it dried up and the Sunoco Ron Fellows Karting Championship crowned the final four class champions. In Formula Senior, Robert Wickens is the champion, Adriano Bilotta won World Formula Senior, Marco Di Leo took Rotax Max Senior, and Michael Di Meo won Canada Junior Heavy.

Eleven drivers were also selected for the Sunoco Ron Fellows Evaluation Day this year, which will be held on October 7 at the Bridgestone Racing Academy. The 11 drivers are; Daniel Morad, Adriano Bilotta, Kyle Marcelli, Corey Usher, Pearce Herder, Justin Holtom, Eric Gerrits, Wilson Tessari Neto, Devin Cunningham, Darryl Timmers and Richard Boake.

Formula Senior
Cameron Motorsports CRG driver Robert Wickens got a much needed Pfaff Fast Qualifier award, which helped get within 10 points of championship leader, firstkart.com driver Daniel Morad going into the final round. At the start, on a drying track, the top drivers opted for dry tires, and for the first few laps, it was a skating rink. Daniel Morad took this opportunity to build a sizeable lead. Wickens was second, but being hounded by CMP’s Frank Launi, who started last, but was up to third in four laps. As the track dried, Wickens was free of Launi, who broke a radiator, and he charged forward to catch Morad on lap 22, where he made the pass. Wickens went on to win, followed by Morad and SH Karting’s Andrew Hall was third.

Fomula Senior Champion Robert Wickens

World Formula Senior
CMP’s Paul Carvahlo took the Pfaff Fast Qualifier award on a wet track. Carvahlo led early, and built a lead by halfway over Wilson Tessari Neto. Neto lost a clutch and had to retire. That moved Ryan Dennahower up to second and Zach Boam to third. Boam passed Dennahower in the dying laps to move up to second and demote Dennnahower to third.

World Formula Champion Adriano Bilotta

RotaxMax Senior
SH Karting’s Devin Cunningham took the Pfaff Fast Qualifier award. Firstkart.com’s Eric Gerrits took the lad from that start ahead of Cunningham. Cameron Motorsports CRG driver Marco Di Leo was third, then he moved up to second when he passed Cunningham. Both second and third moved up when Gerrits kart lost a chain with just a few laps to go, moving up Di Leo, who took the win, and Cunningham second with Firstkart.com’s Mike Rogers third.

Rotax Max Senior Champion Marco Di Leo

Canada Junior Heavy
Firstkart.com’s Kevin Monteith the Pfaff Fast Qualifier award. Monteith led from the start to take the win ahead of Michael Di Meo and Justin Holtom.

Canada Junior Heavy Champion Michael Di Meo

The GM Winners Circle award for outstanding skills and sportsmanship went to the Kevin Monteith for a flag to flag win in Canada Junior Heavy. The Pratt&Miller award for team spirit went to Race Ready Motorsports and Joshua Gilbert.

The objective of the SRFKC is to help foster a professional environment for kart drivers; help create a positive attitude towards appearance, conduct and discipline; help foster the employment of the best practices for the safe and fair running of competitions; and help kart drivers to move up the racing ladder to automobile racing.

1 comment: